Area personale

 

Tag

 

Ultime visite al Blog

taichungmonellaccio19amorino11m12ps12acer.250miriade159prefazione09Marion20cassetta2limitedelbosco0marabertowjoerivetto6surfinia60Catter1na
 

Ultimi commenti

 
Creato da: taichung il 12/01/2011
Linux Drupal Pinephone Freerunner Android

 

 
« Pinephone review: ArchPinephone review: Rhino ... »

Pinephone short review: Manjaro beta 34

Post n°75 pubblicato il 29 Luglio 2023 da taichung
 
Foto di taichung

After testing the beta 30 version of Manjaro, gave another try with the newest version, the beta 34, still with Phosh. Respect to the review for the older one, this time I installed it on the EMMC memory. I didn't notice much difference in speed respect to the old installation on a microsd card. The boot is very fast, quite impressive; the shutdown takes more time.

I take the chance to open a braket about a common application by Gnome: it's Geary, an email client. Before removeing PostmarketOS from the EMMC, it was working with my own email server and self signed ssl certificates. I then noted it didn't work anymore on Manjaro (Geary 40.0) Later I tested it on Mobian Bookworm and Ubuntu desktop... no difference, it still doesn't accept my certificates (which btw work on Kmail). [As I found out later, you need to manually install gnome-keyring on your distro to let Geary work with the SSL certificates].

Calls, SMS work as expected, with good audio quality.

ManjaroAlthough what prevents me to keep as default OS on my Pinephone is the lack of the chance to chose to encrypt the FS, Manjaro is still one of the most stable distro on the Pinephone: in one week I never experimented a freeze, just some slowliness when resuming from sleep, occasionally it took several seconds to show the keyboard to input the PIN and unlock the screen.

What instead I appreciated is that it seems to me that the consumption of the battery is lower respect to PostmatrketOS and Mobian. If it just could let the phone work for a whole day without draining... but in Pinephone we trust!

 
Condividi e segnala Condividi e segnala - permalink - Segnala abuso
 
 
Vai alla Home Page del blog

Cerca in questo Blog

  Trova
 
RSS (Really simple syndication) Feed Atom
 

Archivio messaggi

 
 << Giugno 2024 >> 
 
LuMaMeGiVeSaDo
 
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
 
 

Sponsored link

Inchiostro stampanti varie marche a prezzi competitivi

 

© Italiaonline S.p.A. 2024Direzione e coordinamento di Libero Acquisition S.á r.l.P. IVA 03970540963