Marco Verratti: A village boy in Italy and a decade of loving France

unnamed (8)

Let’s join  xoilac to follow details of Premier League matches and football news, please visit the website

In the latest interview in France Football magazine, Marco Verratti, who spent 10 years playing for PSG and has a contract with the French capital team until 2026, shared his love for the hexagonal country.

–  Can we call you Marcz

(Laughs) I’m still Italian; everyone still calls me Marco. However, France has been a part of me, and this place has given me many things.

– To the point of wanting to become a French citizen? (Verratti shared this with La Gazzetta dello Sport in July 2022).

Here, I grew up and got married. When I first came to France, I was still just a teenager. At this time, I was a man. An important period in my life is associated with France.

– He came to Paris in July 2012, when he was 19 years old (from Pescara). What did France mean to you at that time?

I grew up in a village in Abruzzes (Manoppello, Italy). My family doesn’t travel much, and I myself have never been to France. I know Paris but have never been there. But as soon as I came here, I immediately fell in love with this city. This place opened my eyes because, when you come from a small village, there are many things you haven’t seen. In Paris, there are many people with many different cultures. If you are a smart boy, Paris can help you become more mature.

– Especially since we didn’t give you a very warm welcome. Not too many people attended his launch…

That’s normal because the year I joined, PSG recruited stars (Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Thiago Silva in the summer, then Maxwell, Thiago Motta, and Alex in January). And I’m just a boy from Pescara. I have never played football to make a name for myself or for money. I play football for fun. The best way to prove who you are is through your performance on the field. That’s why I don’t have a problem with not being welcomed warmly.

However, I have a funny story about Zlatan. I was announced on the same day as him. They told him:  “We introduce Marco first, so everyone will have time to get here.” Zlatan often told me that he had to wait 30 minutes for me to talk before his introduction. Thanks to those players, I integrated quickly in Paris.

– Is it difficult to integrate into our country?

My brother left Italy to accompany me. When I first came here, I didn’t have a work permit and couldn’t make a plate of pasta myself. So he is very important. There’s also Lavezzi, Ibra, Maxwell… They all treat me like a younger brother. They took me to practice; in the afternoons and evenings, I stayed at their house, or we would go out to eat at restaurants together. 

Besides, at that time I also tried installing a satellite dish on the terrace to watch Pescara’s matches, but not long after everyone told me to remove it. So I changed to an apartment that could fit a pan (laughs).

– Did France help you become a different person?

It was quite difficult at first. I feel like this is a giant city. But like I said, if you’re smart, you can’t help but love Paris. Here, I have everything. Every day, I can do many different things. I spent a lot of time exploring, walking, and going to museums and exhibitions.

Pescara is very small, and they are big football fans. It is very difficult to walk on the street, even if you have passed two lines of people in a row. And here, in the first 2-3 years, I felt like it very much. If I could go back to that time, it would be great. At the same time, I also have a lot of fun on the field. I get to play with great champions. It’s not difficult to keep pace from Pescara in Serie B to the Champions League with them by your side. great team.

unnamed (9)

– What surprised you the most about France?

I hated this at first, but then I liked it. The people here are quite cold. If I make friends with someone in Paris, it means he is a true friend. In Italy, we have a lot of friends (laughs). I don’t go to Milan much, but every time I go there, people always tell me, “Oh, is that my friend?” “Is my friend okay?” It was as if we were all friends. But in the end, when you need someone, not many people appear. In France, I have 3–4 really close friends. And if the slightest problem happens, no matter what time of night it is, I know I can call them and they will be there, not because I’m Marco Verratti and I play soccer

– How do France and Ligue 1 influence your playing style?

Ligue 1 helped me discover a different league and helped me step out of my comfort zone. Each country has its own characteristics. Ligue 1 is more physical. I’m not tall and not too strong. When facing teams here, I have to be persistent and strong. Ligue 1 has helped me develop this aspect.

– He is the most successful player in the history of the French National Championship. Do you think you have become a legend in our country?

Of course, it’s an honor. Above all, it means we have a strong team.

Who is your favorite player, not including PSG players?

Houssem Aour During his peak form, he was really good.

– Zidane or Materazzi?

(Laughs) In terms of gameplay, I choose Zidane. For history, I choose Materazzi. He put us in the history books; he scored the important goal that made us world champions. The day Italy won the World Cup was a wonderful day in my life. However, I also like Zidane very much. Zidane plays football. However, Materazzi gives me goosebumps even more.

– Will you still be in France in 10 years?

 Correct. I love France.

Marco Verratti: A village boy in Italy and a decade of loving Franceultima modifica: 2023-10-24T10:24:40+02:00da henrymarc

You may also like...